Rainbow and the Eagle

Somewhere over the rainbow
Way up high
There’s a land that I heard of
Once in a lullaby
Somewhere over the rainbow
Skies are blue
And the dreams that you dare to dream
Really do come true

I remember seeing rainbows as a young child and then it would not be until many years later that I would see them again. As I began to open my eyes and awaken indeed they showed up.  Upon my arrival to Boulder in 2008 I saw a double rainbow, I believe the first double I have ever seen. Subsequently I would see many more including the five that I write about in my book on a journey to Mt. Shasta in Nov. of 2009. The morning I left Boulder to move to Port Townsend once again I saw a double rainbow.

I have seen rainbows since my arrival to Port Townsend however this story is about The Rainbow. On the day of the earthquake in Japan I was heading out for a couple local errands and there I saw a most spectacular rainbow right by the water near my home. Compelled to follow as I was amazed how close it was. Driving near the waters’ edge it was there I sat at the end of the rainbow, I had arrived somewhere over the rainbow. I do believe I shall be receiving my pot of gold now.

The next day I walked over to the bluff near my home to see how the water was doing since the earthquake had shaken the planet. I noticed some rough water yet nothing too uncommon. That is until I looked up at apparently the right moment, for there he was a magnificent eagle soaring over head holding such grace in his commitment of flight. The full moon was actually at it’s peak on Saturday at 11:10 am. here on the west coast. With all the energy of this week I felt inspired and a need to play my bowl down by the water in that precise moment of the full moon. Reverently as I stood by the water aware of so much beauty I felt united in the splendor of the all-ness with this deep connection of the land, sea and air.

While ascending the flight of 108 stairs at the bluff on my return home, I can recall that I felt as though I was letting go of the past. Releasing any attachments that may still remain, each stair had a story and a message within it. As my feet with deliberation would connect with every step I could feel the energy release. About halfway on my ascension I decided to look up and in a subtle pause I would see him again, my eagle friend. Falling to my knees I began to weep for I knew this was quite a gift and in that moment I accepted my new totem. This powerful eagle medicine speaks of illumination of spirit, healing and creation. Teaching a balance of being of the Earth but not in it.

Love and Gratitude,

Lisanne

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. doris bishop
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 21:30:56

    Really loved your writing on the Rainbow and the Eagle…..just fabulous and enjoyed completely. Thank you.

    Love, Mom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

all content © 2011
